Posted in Honesty

Here We Go (Again)

It’s funny to me that the last post I wrote for this blog was about how it had been 48 days since the last time I wrote, and that was embarrassing. But now, it’s been 290 days and to be honest, I don’t know if it’s more embarrassing or more comforting.

So many things have changed in the past 290 days, and reading through some of my old posts make it feel like I’m reading about a life that is not mine. We have moved and gotten laid off and hired and loved and lost – and yet, this simple website and my simple words remain. I could open this site and edit and write and delete and nothing has changed.

But, once again, I’m taking a writing class at Western Theological Seminary. And, once again, it’s stirring up the itch to write. I don’t know what I want to write about, because my life is so different now than it was a year ago and my class will end in 90 minutes. All I know is that when I write, when my keys click and words scroll across a text box, things make sense. My head seems more clear and my shakiness calms, and I can just start to write. It’s not a perfect science, but for me, it’s one of life’s little joys.

So this is my plan: I re-worked all of the settings on this blog to automatically post to Facebook and Twitter when I publish a new post. For me, anxiety-filled and people pleasing bones and all, this is terrifying. I have a lot of people in my life now who have never read my work and don’t know this blog exists, and that bubble will burst when I push “publish” for the first time. But, in bursting my own bubble, I’m hoping that I’ll gain a lot of accountability to write and (as scary as it is) a lot of helpful feedback on the words that I have to say. To borrow a popular phrase, it takes a village to keep a blog going.

I don’t know what I’ll write about this time around. This is technically the 3rd “start” of this blog. I’m sure it will be a bit about the kids I work with, the church I work at, my struggles with anxiety and ADHD, my love for psychology, my family and friends, the dreams that I have and the things that inhabit my every day life. Hopefully it will be healing and hopefully you all (however many of your there are) will enjoy reading it.

Third time’s a charm, right? Here we go – again.

Author:

Children's Pastor. Wife. Daughter. Sister. Friend. Enneagram 6. Sports Lover. Writer. Book Enthusiast/Nerd. Living at the intersection of it all with anxiety, ADHD, GAD, and a healthy dose of grace.

One thought on “Here We Go (Again)

Leave a Reply

